Two different types of 3-disulfide EGF domain

Group publications

Structurally, the EGF domain is typically described as a small domain of 30-40 amino acids primarily stabilized by three disulfides with disulfide connectivity ababcc (1-3,2-4,5-6). The domain consists of two β-sheets, usually referred to as the major (N-terminal) and minor (C-terminal) sheets. The half-cystines of the abc motif are arranged in a triangle on the major sheet. Two different types of three-disulfide EGF domains can be differentiated that chiefly differ in the structure of the minor sheet and the location of disulfide c within it.

Distribution of disulfide c loop lengths in EGF modules in Swiss-Prot 43. The bimodal distribution of loop lengths is due to the presence of two different EGF type.

What are the different types?

What type of EGF domain is my protein?
Search Swiss-Prot

Read more about it (link to journal)

© 2015 Merridee Wouters. | Website feedback | Last modified: 29 Jan 2016